This page will be restructured in due course.




This section provides information on various places in the British Isles. It will be developed over time to include at least one article on every region of the islands and will provide links to many specialist sites where more information may be found. If the number of articles/posts requires it, I will revert to dividing this Category into 5 different Subcategories as shown below.

UKf I use the normal definitions of the British Isles and their constituent parts as follows:The British Isles = Great Britain, Ireland, the Channel Islands, and the Isle of ManGreat Britain = England, Scotland and Wales Ireland = Republic of Ireland (Eire) and Northern Ireland The United Kingdom = Great Britain and Northern Ireland


To start with I include pages on the following:

GREAT BRITAIN ENGLAND SCOTLAND A History of Scotland WALES IRELAND (not yet ready) MAPS  GBmap01 - The Counties of Great Britain  GBmap02 - Physical Map of the British Isles







Using the traditional names and boundaries suggested by The Association of British Counties, Wales (Cymru) has the following 13 counties: Anglesey (Sir Fon), Brecknockshire (Sir Frycheiniog), Caernarfonshire (Sir Gaernarfon), Carmarthenshire (Sir Gaerfyrddin), Cardiganshire (Ceredigion), Denbighshire (Sir Ddinbych), Flintshire (Sir Fflint), Glamorgan (Morgannwg), Merioneth (Meirionnydd), Monmouthshire (Sir Fynwy), Montgomeryshire (Sir Drefaldwyn), Pembrokeshire (Sir Benfro), Radnorshire (Sir Faesyfed).



Across the centuries, the boundaries of the regions of Wales have varied considerably. Initially this was the result of battles for territory between the different tribes. More recently, it has been more for administrative & bureaucratic convenience. The map on the left shows the situation around the 12th century. The map on the right shows how it was at the end of the 20th century.

wales02 wales03


For the map on the right, in rough terms (with a little exchange between some of the counties): - Gwynedd covers Anglesey, Carnarvonshire & Merioneth - Clwyd covers Denbighshire & Flintshire - Powys covers Montgomeryshire, Radnorshire & Breconshire - Dyfed covers Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire & Pembrokeshire - Glamorgan has been split into 3 administrative regions (West, Mid & South) - Gwent covers Monmouthshire.

More information on Wales will be added in due course.




The Scots are proud of their country. See A History of Scotland for some reasons why this can be justified even though much of the past was not as glamorous as some may think it was.

Although its land acreage is relatively small, Scotland has a large coastline whilst, thanks to the Orkney & Shetland Islands, its maritime territory is quite significant. Lerwick, the main town of the Shetland Isles, is closer to Bergen in Norway than it is to Edinburgh.

Using the traditional names and boundaries suggested by The Association of British Counties, Scotland has the following 34 counties: Aberdeenshire, Angus/Forfarshire, Argyllshire, Ayrshire, Banffshire, Berwickshire, Buteshire, Cromartyshire, Caithness, Clackmannanshire, Dumfriesshire, Dunbartonshire/Dumbartonshire, East Lothian/Haddingtonshire, Fife, Inverness-shire, Kincardineshire, Kinross-shire, Kirkcudbrightshire, Lanarkshire, Midlothian/Edinburghshire, Morayshire, Nairnshire, Orkney, Peeblesshire, Perthshire, Renfrewshire, Ross-shire, Roxburghshire, Selkirkshire, Shetland, Stirlingshire, Sutherland, West Lothian/Linlithgowshire, Wigtownshire.

scotreg2 title=

There is no single truly traditional and always-accepted method of dividing Scotland into smaller regions, groups of counties, but the following is not uncommon: » Borders : Berwickshire, Roxburghshire, Selkirkshire. » Dumfries and Galloway : Dumfriesshire, Kirkcudbrightshire, Wigtownshire. » Lothian : East Lothian, Midlothian, West Lothian. » Central-South : Ayrshire, Lanarkshire, Peeblesshire, Renfrewshire. » Central-North : Dunbartonshire/Dumbartonshire, Stirlingshire. » Argyll and Bute : Argyllshire, Buteshire. » Perthshire, Tayside and Fife : Clackmannanshire, Fife, Kinross-shire, Perthshire. » Grampian : Aberdeenshire, Angus/Forfarshire, Banffshire, Kincardineshire. » Moray and Nairn : Morayshire, Nairnshire. » The Highlands and The Western Islands : Inverness-shire, Cromartyshire, Ross-shire. » Sutherland and Caithness : Sutherland, Caithness. » The Northern Isles (not shown...



Using the traditional names and boundaries suggested by The Association of British Counties, England has the following 39 counties: Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cheshire, Cornwall, Cumberland, Derbyshire, Devon, Dorset, Durham, Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Herefordshire, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Rutland, Shropshire, Somerset, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Surrey, Sussex, Warwickshire, Westmorland, Wiltshire, Worcestershire, Yorkshire.


Although Greater London is nowadays treated as an administrative county in its own right, different parts of it are in different counties (Kent, Surrey, Middlesex, Hertfordshire and Essex), having evolved from the City of Westminster (in Middlesex) which grew outwards to meet many other towns and villages which all expanded until there was little space between them and they formed a giant conurbation.

engreg2England is sometimes talked about as if it was divided into different Regions, each comprising various counties. There is no formally accepted method of division but the following are not uncommon, although it should be noted that some of them have been 'stretched' to ensure that all of the counties are included somewhere: » North-West : Cumberland, Lancashire, Westmorland » North-East : Durham, Northumberland, Yorkshire » West Midlands : Cheshire, Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire with Bedfordshire » East Midlands : Derbyshire, Huntingdonshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland » East Anglia : Norfolk, Suffolk with Cambridgeshire, Essex » Thames Valley ** : Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire with Wiltshire » South-West...