Using the traditional names and boundaries suggested by The Association of British Counties, Wales (Cymru) has the following 13 counties: Anglesey (Sir Fon), Brecknockshire (Sir Frycheiniog), Caernarfonshire (Sir Gaernarfon), Carmarthenshire (Sir Gaerfyrddin), Cardiganshire (Ceredigion), Denbighshire (Sir Ddinbych), Flintshire (Sir Fflint), Glamorgan (Morgannwg), Merioneth (Meirionnydd), Monmouthshire (Sir Fynwy), Montgomeryshire (Sir Drefaldwyn), Pembrokeshire (Sir Benfro), Radnorshire (Sir Faesyfed).



Across the centuries, the boundaries of the regions of Wales have varied considerably. Initially this was the result of battles for territory between the different tribes. More recently, it has been more for administrative & bureaucratic convenience. The map on the left shows the situation around the 12th century. The map on the right shows how it was at the end of the 20th century.



For the map on the right, in rough terms (with a little exchange between some of the counties):
– Gwynedd covers Anglesey, Carnarvonshire & Merioneth
– Clwyd covers Denbighshire & Flintshire
– Powys covers Montgomeryshire, Radnorshire & Breconshire
– Dyfed covers Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire & Pembrokeshire
– Glamorgan has been split into 3 administrative regions (West, Mid & South)
– Gwent covers Monmouthshire.

More information on Wales will be added in due course.

Written by on the 26th February 2014.

Peter is the founder & proprietor of Stirnet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.